Page 1 of 1

Issue with German TTS Playout

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:23 pm
by vikas
TTS Engine: Nuance RealSpeak 4.0

We are facing an issue with TTS playout for German language.
On few calls TTS engine is playing transactions in Male voice while on other calls it is playing in Female voice :roll:
This is in our Pre-Prod environment (note that we have not migrated to production yet).

In code we are not using <voice> tag to set voice name since we are assuming that the default voice will be female voice i.e. "Steffi".

Can you please let us how to get rid of this inconsistent behavior?
Code example pasted below:

<prompt xml:lang="de-DE">
<audio expr="Prompt12"> <value expr="Verbiage12"/></audio>
<prosody volume="100.0" rate="default">
<say-as type="currency"><value expr="convertToDecimalUniversal(availableBalance,localization)" /></say-as>.
<break time="1s"/>
</prosody>
</prompt>

Re: Issue with German TTS Playout

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:02 am
by support
Hi,

We will investigate why the TTS engine plays with different voices as it's default behavior.

However, we recommend that you use the <voice> tag, if possible, to ensure you will get the correct voice:

Code: Select all

<prompt xml:lang="de-DE">
<audio expr="Prompt12"> <value expr="Verbiage12"/></audio>
<prosody volume="100.0" rate="default">
<voice name="steffi">
<say-as type="currency"><value expr="convertToDecimalUniversal(availableBalance,localization)" /></say-as>.
<break time="1s"/>
</voice>
</prosody>
</prompt>
Another option may be to use the "voicegender" property, if you are unable to use the voice tag:

Code: Select all

<property name="voicegender" value="female"/>
Documentation for this property can be found here.

Regards,
Plum Support

Re: Issue with German TTS Playout

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:12 pm
by vikas
Thank you.

As per the suggestion I have used <property name="voicegender" value="female"/> in my root document and it seems to be working. In case I encounter male voice again then I will update the thread.

Just to let you know that this issue has started recently.
I remember we didn't face any such issue in May when this application was getting tested.