line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

Questions and answers about IVR programming for Plum DEV

Moderators: admin, support

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

sachinc

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:45 pm

line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostMon Jan 29, 2018 9:56 pm

Hi,
I want to use line break in outbound text message . I have used \n but it's not working.

Thanks
Sachin
Offline

support

  • Posts: 3628
  • Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:47 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Re: line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 4:19 pm

Hi Sachin,

Unfortunately this is not currently a feature available in our SMS API. However, our developers are actively investigating adding support for that and will reply to this post when it becomes available.

Regards,
Plum Support
Offline

support

  • Posts: 3628
  • Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:47 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Re: line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostWed Jan 31, 2018 4:22 pm

Hi Sachin,

This fix is now live, please feel free to test this out and let us know if you have any additional questions.

Regards,
Plum Support
Offline

jparnell

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 12:23 pm

Hello, I am also interested in using line wraps in outbound SMS messages. I'm including \n in the message but it sends a visible "\n" to the end user. Is there something else I can try?

Thanks,
J.R. Parnell
Offline

support

  • Posts: 3628
  • Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:47 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Re: line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 1:30 pm

Hi,

When using a line break, the message must be in double quotes. For example,
Code: Select all
 $params['body'] = "This is a notification. \n This is on a new line.";
will work, but using single quotes will not work. Please let us know if you have any additional questions.


Kindly,
Plum Support
Offline

jparnell

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: line break in outbound text message in Plumdev

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 3:24 pm

Just an update, the solution worked! Thanks for your assistance.

Return to Plum DEV Q&A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron