Page 1 of 1

say-as not working...

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:16 pm
by tcherry
I have used say-as correctly from what I can tell, but for some reason, it's not working when I try it out... Here's the form with the code:

Code: Select all

<form id="offices">
  <block>
    <prompt>
      <voice name="audrey">
        We are located at 200 Fake Street, Suite 308, in Portsmouth, Virginia, 
   <say-as type="number:digits">23704</say-as> 
  , and open from 09:00 to 05:00. The phone number is 
  <say-as type="telephone">757-123-4567</say-as> 
  ; and the fax number is 
  <say-as type="telephone">757-123-4568</say-as> 
  . If you would like me to repeat this listing, say offices or press 3; otherwise I will return you to the main menu. 
    <break time="4s" /> 
    </voice>
    </prompt>
    <goto next="#main_menu" /> 
  </block>
</form>

Congratulations

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:00 pm
by support
I think you have uncovered a bug in the AT&T text to speech engine.
Unfortunately, since its not our code, we cannot fix this. The good news is that audrey seems to be the only voice that is affected. Try switching the voice to Crystal and it will suddenly work correctly

sorry for the inconveience,

Plum Support

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:14 pm
by jasoneppink
Is this still a problem? I have similar code that is reciting a phone number as an integer no matter what I set the 'say-as' type to. I've used both the default voice and Crystal.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 6:02 pm
by support
Hello,

As this is not our code there is no way for us to resolve the issue. Plum relies on the third party TTS engine from AT&T. Until they resolve the issue in their engine there is nothing Plum can do.

You should try:

Code: Select all

<say-as type="acronym">12345678900</say-as>
This usually breaks each digit out of a number. If this does not work you can add a space between each digit to force them to be read back individually.

Regards,
Plum Support