Why is the <say-as> tag not working?

Answers to common Plum DEV questions

Moderators: admin, support

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tcherry

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:16 am

say-as not working...

PostThu Aug 12, 2004 2:16 pm

I have used say-as correctly from what I can tell, but for some reason, it's not working when I try it out... Here's the form with the code:
Code: Select all
<form id="offices">
  <block>
    <prompt>
      <voice name="audrey">
        We are located at 200 Fake Street, Suite 308, in Portsmouth, Virginia,
   <say-as type="number:digits">23704</say-as>
  , and open from 09:00 to 05:00. The phone number is
  <say-as type="telephone">757-123-4567</say-as>
  ; and the fax number is
  <say-as type="telephone">757-123-4568</say-as>
  . If you would like me to repeat this listing, say offices or press 3; otherwise I will return you to the main menu.
    <break time="4s" />
    </voice>
    </prompt>
    <goto next="#main_menu" />
  </block>
</form>
Offline

support

  • Posts: 3627
  • Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:47 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Congratulations

PostWed Aug 18, 2004 1:00 pm

I think you have uncovered a bug in the AT&T text to speech engine.
Unfortunately, since its not our code, we cannot fix this. The good news is that audrey seems to be the only voice that is affected. Try switching the voice to Crystal and it will suddenly work correctly

sorry for the inconveience,

Plum Support
Offline

jasoneppink

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:49 pm

PostFri Apr 21, 2006 4:14 pm

Is this still a problem? I have similar code that is reciting a phone number as an integer no matter what I set the 'say-as' type to. I've used both the default voice and Crystal.
Offline

support

  • Posts: 3627
  • Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:47 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

PostFri Apr 21, 2006 6:02 pm

Hello,

As this is not our code there is no way for us to resolve the issue. Plum relies on the third party TTS engine from AT&T. Until they resolve the issue in their engine there is nothing Plum can do.

You should try:
Code: Select all
<say-as type="acronym">12345678900</say-as>

This usually breaks each digit out of a number. If this does not work you can add a space between each digit to force them to be read back individually.

Regards,
Plum Support

Return to Plum DEV FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron